Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

New Source Review

Webinar Series on Tribal New Source Review (NSR) Program

EPA will be conducting various webinars on the New Source Review (NSR) Program as shown below. NSR is a Clean Air Act program commonly known as the "preconstruction air permitting program" that requires industrial facilities to install modern pollution control equipment when they are built or when making a change that increases emissions significantly. The NSR is divided into three parts: the Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD), the Nonattainnment NSR (NA NSR) and the Minor NSR program.

EPA recently finalized a NSR rule that will establish the major NSR program in nonattainment areas and the minor NSR program for both attainment and nonattainment areas in Indian country. The purpose of these webinars is to inform and train environmental professionals interested in knowing more about NSR and the rule or that will be in charge of implementing the rule.

The webinars will summarize the most relevant provisions of the PSD, major NA NSR and minor NSR programs and will provide the opportunity for participants to ask questions. Previous background on NSR would be very helpful, but not necessary.

Please forward this information to any environmental professionals that may be interested in this training.

Tribal NSR Webinar Series

Webinar #1
TOPIC: Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) and the Nonattainment NSR (NA NSR) - Webinar for Tribal Environmental Professionals
DATE: July 20, 2011
TIME: (EDT)1:00 - 3:00 PM; (CMT)12:00 - 2:00 PM; (MST)11:00 - 1:00 pm; (PT)10:00 - 12:00 PM

This webinar's areas of discussion will include:

  • PSD (~45 minutes)
  • Nonattainment major NSR rule (~45 minutes)
  • Q & A's (~30 minutes)

Presentation materials (PDF) (59pp, 392k) and video recording of the webinar are available here. If you have any questions about the presentation materials or the rule in general, please email them to Jessica Montanez at montanez.jessica@epa.gov.

Webinar #2
TOPIC: Minor NSR Program - Webinar for Tribal Environmental Professionals
DATE: July 25, 2011
TIME: (EDT)1:00 - 3:00 PM; (CMT)12:00 - 2:00 PM; (MST)11:00 - 1:00 pm; (PT)10:00 - 12:00 PM

This webinar's area of discussion will include:

  • Minor NSR rule (~1 hr. 30 minutes)
  • Q & A's (~30 minutes)

Presentation materials (PDF) (40pp, 169k) and video recording of the webinar are available here. If you have any questions about the presentation materials or the rule in general, please email them to Jessica Montanez at montanez.jessica@epa.gov.

Webinar #3
TOPIC: NSR Implementation - Webinar for Tribal Environmental Professionals
Note: Webinar #3 has been cancelled. It will be rescheduled at a later time

Webinar #4
TOPIC: Tribal NSR Rule - Webinar for Industry, Environmental Organizations, State and Local Agencies
DATE: August 2, 2011
TIME: (EDT)1:00 - 4:00 PM; (CMT)12:00 - 3:00 PM; (MST)11:00 - 2:00 pm; (PT)10:00 - 1:00 PM

This webinar's areas of discussion will include:

  • Nonattainment major NSR rule (~45 minutes)
  • Minor NSR rule (~1 hr 45 minutes)
  • Q's and A's (~30 minutes)

Presentation materials (PDF) (73pp, 419k) and video recording of the webinar are available here. If you have any questions about the presentation materials or the rule in general, please email them to Jessica Montanez at montanez.jessica@epa.gov.

Additional Information

For more information about these webinars, please contact Toni Colón, 919-541-0069 or colon.toni@epa.gov.



Jump to main content.