Jump to main content.

Clean Data Policy & Redesignation Policy


EPA has issued policy memoranda and implementation rules outlining EPA interpretations of the provisions of the Clean Air Act as they apply to areas that have attained the NAAQS. In designated nonattainment areas where monitored data demonstrate that the NAAQS have been achieved, EPA interprets certain requirements of the Clean Air Act as no longer applying for so long as air quality continues to meet the standard. Therefore, the Agency does not require these areas to submit to EPA certain SIP elements, including reasonable further progress (RFP) requirements, attainment demonstrations, reasonable available control measures (RACM), and contingency measures. This interpretation of the Clean Air Act is known as the Clean Data Policy.

The Clean Data Policy and Regulations
Redesignation Guidance

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.