Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

Center for Corporate Climate Leadership

Individual Leadership Award

The 2016 Climate Leadership Awards application period will be open from June 24, 2015 through September 25, 2015.


Recognizes individuals demonstrating extraordinary leadership both in their own response to climate change and through engagement of their peers and partners.

Application and Submission Instructions
  1. Review the general eligibility requirements and the specific evaluation criteria for the Individual Leadership Award category specified below.
  2. Download the 2016 Individual Leadership Award Application form and the Third Party Reference Form (at least two are required).
  3. Complete the application package, save it to your computer, and submit a copy with all required supporting materials by e-mail to applications@ClimateLeadershipAwards.org with the following subject line: Application for Individual Leadership Award.

Please Note: If applying for an award in more than one category, submissions must be made separately for each. An individual may not reapply for this award category in which if he/she has won in the past two years (e.g., an individual who won in this category in 2014 may not reapply for the same category until the 2017 awards, however, s/he can apply in another category if meeting the eligibility requirements for that category).

General Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicant's employer must have significant operations in the United States. Given the global nature of climate change, the majority of greenhouse gas emissions reductions do not have to occur in the U.S.
  • Applicant's employer must meet one of the following descriptions:
    • Legally-recognized corporate organization with annual revenue over $100 million; or
    • Governmental entity or academic organization with annual budget over $100 million.
  • Applicants must have been employed and reside within the United States.
  • Exemplary climate leadership activities must have taken place between January 1, 2013 and September 25, 2015. However, applications may also refer to actions that commenced before that time and continued into the application period and the length of time an action has been in practice, or which explains how that prior activity served as a foundation for ongoing and more current activities.

Individual Leadership Award Evaluation Criteria

Applicants will be evaluated based on the following attributes that are deemed to exceed business as usual:

  • Innovation, strategic management, and thought leadership in addressing climate change.
  • Key climate initiatives led by the applicant, and subsequent goals, benchmarks and plans for measuring success implemented by applicant.
  • Quality of engagement with non-profit partners, government organizations, and/or other non-advocacy collaborations.
  • Quality of collaboration with peers to develop best practices, influence behavior change, establish standards, and engage in public education.
  • Education and training of internal staff and management, as well as external stakeholders, partners, and suppliers.

Top of page

Jump to main content.