Jump to main content.


Food Recovery Challenge - Regional Information

The Food Recovery Challenge is a national effort under the EPA's Sustainable Materials Management Program challenging businesses to reduce the amount of food sent to landfills. In 2010, more than 33 million tons of food waste ended up in landfills. If you are interested in joining the Food Recovery Challenge or learning more about how you can reduce food reaching landfills, select your state or territory from the list or map below or visit the food recovery webpages Exit EPA.



Headquarters (Washington, DC)

  • Tiffany Kollar (kollar.tiffany@epa.gov)
    (703) 308-8675

New England (Region 1)

  • Christine Beling (Beling.christine@epa.gov)
    (857) 829-8259
  • Janet Bowen (Bowen.janet@epa.gov)
    (617) 918-179
Region 1 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

Region 2

  • Lorraine Graves (Graves.lorraine@epa.gov)
    (212) 637-4099
  • Rachel Chaput (Chaput.rachel@epa.gov)
    (212) 637-4116
  • Shane Nelson (Nelson.shane@epa.gov)
    (212) 637-3130
Region 2 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

Mid-Atlantic (Region 3)

  • Luke Wolfgang (Wolfgang.luke@epa.gov)
    (215) 814-2913
  • Donna McGowan (Mcgowan.donna@epa.gov)
    (215) 814-5197
Region 3 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

Southeast (Region 4)

  • Mary Beth Van Pelt (Vanpelt.marybeth@epa.gov)
    (404) 562-8615
  • Thornell Cheeks (Cheeks.thornell@epa.gov)
    (404) 562-8479
Region 4 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

Great Lakes (Region 5)

  • Julie Schilf (Schilf.julie@epa.gov)
    (312) 886-0407
Region 5 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

South Central (Region 6)

  • Golam Mustafa (Mustafa.golam@epa.gov)
    (214) 665-6576
  • Willie Kelley (Kelley.willie@epa.gov)
    (214) 665-6761
Region 6 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

Midwest (Region 7)

  • Gayle Hubert (Hubert.gayle@epa.gov)
    (913) 551-7439
  • Jim Callier (callier.jim@epa.gov)
    (913) 551-7646

Mountains and Plains (Region 8)

  • Steve Burkett (Burkett.steve@epa.gov)
    (303) 312-7081
Region 8 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs

Pacific Southwest (Region 9)

  • Laura Moreno (Moreno.laura@epa.gov)
    (415) 947-4240
  • Saskia van Gendt (Vangendt.saskia@epa.gov)
    (415) 947-4103

Pacific Northwest (Region 10)

  • Ashley Zanolli (Zanolli.ashley@epa.gov)
    (206) 553-4425
Region 10 Resources
State Food Waste Management Programs
  • Alaska
  • Idaho
  • Oregon
    • Food Rescue Programs
  • Washington

Top of Page


Local Navigation




Jump to main content.