Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

New Source Review

Where You Live

Most NSR permits are issued by state or local air pollution control agencies. EPA establishes the basic requirements for an NSR program in its federal regulations. States may develop unique NSR requirements and procedures tailored for the air quality needs of each area as long as the program is at least as stringent as EPA's requirements. A state's NSR program is defined and codified in its State Implementation Plan (SIP). In some cases, state or local air pollution control agencies have not developed a unique NSR program and rely completely on EPA's NSR program. These states are delegated the authority to issue permits on behalf of EPA and are often referred to as "delegated states." Finally, EPA is the permitting authority in some areas. In both delegated programs and where EPA issues permits, the rules and procedures followed in issuing NSR permits is in EPA regulations.

The map below shows which areas are delegated and which areas are SIP approved. To find out who issues permits where you live and what regulations apply, select your state or territory from this map or from the list below the map, or contact your EPA Regional Office.

Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) Permit Program Status
June 2015

Click on a state to see permit contacts
SIP Color SIP Approved Areas

Federal Area Color EPA or Delegated Areas

Combination Color Combination of SIP and
EPA or Delegated Areas
U.S. map showing the which areas are delegated, SIP approved, or combination
Alabama Alaska American Samoa Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Washington, DC Florida Georgia Guam Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachussets Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico New York North Carolina North Dakota Northern Mariana Islands Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Trust Territories Utah Vermont Virgin Islands Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

Jump to main content.