Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

NPDES Permits in New England

Administration of the NPDES Stormwater Permit Program in New England

This page provides links to non-EPA web sites that provide additional information about NPDES Stormwater. You will leave the EPA.gov domain and enter another page with more information. EPA cannot attest to the accuracy of information on that non-EPA page. Providing links to a non-EPA Web site is not an endorsement of the other site or the information it contains by EPA or any of its employees. Also, be aware that the privacy protection provided on the EPA.gov domain (see Privacy and Security Notice) may not be available at the external link. Click icon for EPA disclaimer. 

In New England, the NPDES Stormwater Permit Program is administered by state government in Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, and Vermont ("authorized states") or by EPA, in partnership with the states, in Massachusetts and New Hampshire ("non-authorized states"). Therefore, for detailed information regarding implementation of the stormwater program in a particular state, click on its corresponding link or contact the lead staff person directly.

EPA Contacts

Regional Stormwater Coordinator
Thelma Murphy (murphy.thelma@epa.gov), 617-918-1615

MS4 Program
Newton Tedder (tedder.newton@epa.gov), 617-918-1038

Construction General Permit (CGP) Program
Suzanne Warner (warner.suzanne@epa.gov), 617-918-1383

Industrial/Multi-Sector General Permit (MSGP) Program
Dave Gray (gray.davidj@epa.gov), 617-918-1577

Residual Designation Authority (RDA) Permitting – Upper Charles River Basin
Mark Voorhees (voorhees.mark@epa.gov), 617-918-1537

State Contacts

Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection
Water Permitting and Enforcement Division
Bureau of Water Management and Compliance Assurance

Contact: Chris Stone (chris.stone@ct.gov), 860-424-3850

Maine Department of Environmental Protection
Bureau of Land and Water Quality

Maine Stormwater Think Blue

Contact: David Ladd (david.ladd@state.me.us), 207-287-5404

Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Watershed Management

Massachusetts Bays Stormwater Think Blue

Contact: Frederick Civian (Frederick.Civian@state.ma.us), 617-292-5821

New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services

Contact: Jeff Andrews (Jeff.Andrews@des.nh.gov), (603) 271-2984
Public Information and Permitting Office, (603) 271-2975

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management
Water Resources - Permitting

Contact: Margarita Chatterton (margarita.chatterton@dem.ri.gov), 401-222-4700 x 7605

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources
Water Quality Division

Contact: Padraic Monks (padraic.monks@state.us.vt), 802-490-6169

National Contacts

EPA National TMDL and Stormwater

Jump to main content.