Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us

EPA's Region 6 Office

Serving: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and 66 Tribal Nations

About Us

EPA's mission is to protect human health and to safeguard the natural environment--air, water, and land--upon which life depends. Working in partnership with States, Tribes, and other stakeholders, EPA implements numerous statutory programs established by Congress to protect and preserve our natural ecosystems and the life they sustain. In particular, the Water Quality Protection Division of EPA Region 6 focuses its resources on protecting and preserving the aquatic ecosystems and water resources of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas, as well as the Tribal lands located within our region. Our vision is to provide leadership and assistance to support protection and restoration efforts so that all waters in Region 6 meet all designated uses, and all citizens have access to safe drinking water. Working together, we will aggressively pursue our vision.


The following guiding principles define our commitment:

  • Environmental Stewardship - We recognize and act on our role in protecting and preserving water quality for current and future generations.
  • Service to Others - As public servants we assist others in achieving environmental goals. We strive for increased consistency, public confidence, and certainty in addressing water quality issues.
  • Open Communication - We seek to understand others' viewpoints. We convey our viewpoints to improve mutual understanding and strengthen partnerships. We make information available to all so they understand our decisions.
  • Science Based - We ensure environmental policy and decision-making will be based on credible and publicly available science.
  • Excellence - We dedicate ourselves to lifelong learning and continuous improvement so that we may achieve the highest ideals of public service.

Jump to main content.