Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Pacific Southwest Brownfields

Pacific Southwest, Region 9

Serving: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Islands, Tribal Nations

State Contacts for Brownfields Grant Applicants

On this page:

These contacts can be used by grant applicants for state acknowledgement letters, and where applicable, petroleum site specific eligibility issues.


André Chiaradia (rc6@azdeq.gov)
Brownfields Coordinator, Sustainability Unit
Arizona Department of Environmental Quality
1110 West Washington Street
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
(602) 771-2296


Contact the regional office with the jurisdiction over your project.

Department of Toxic Substances Control Brownfield Contacts

Thomas Cota (tcota@dtsc.ca.gov)
5796 Corporate Avenue
Cypress, California 90630
(714) 484-5459

Central California
Steven Becker (sbecker@dtsc.ca.gov)
8800 Cal Center Drive
Sacramento, California 95826-3200
(916) 255-3586

North Coast California
Janet Naito (jnaito@dtsc.ca.gov)
700 Heinz Avenue, Suite 200
Berkeley, California 94710-2737
(510) 540-3833

Southern California
Southern Counties
Maryam Tasnif-abbasi (mtasnif@dtsc.ca.gov)
5796 Corporate Avenue
Cypress, California 90630
(714) 484-5489

Southern California
Greater Los Angeles Area
Tedd Yargeau (tyargeau@dtsc.ca.gov)
9211 Oakdale Avenue
Chatsworth, California 91311-6505
(818) 717-6545

Central California
Greater Fresno Area
Kevin Shaddy (kshaddy@dtsc.ca.gov)
1515 Tollhouse Road
Clovis, California 93612
(559) 297-3929

State Water Resources Control Board and Regional Water Quality Control Boards Brownfield Contacts


Lisa Babcock (lbabcock@waterboards.ca.gov)
State Water Board (916) 341-5687

John Russell (jrussell@waterboards.ca.gov)
State Water Board (916) 341-5689

Managers Coordinators

North Coast Region:
Luis Rivera (lrivera@waterboards.ca.gov)
(707) 570-3769

San Francisco Bay Region:
Stephen Hill (shill@waterboards.ca.gov)
(510) 622-2361

Central Coast Region:
John Robertson (jrobertson@waterboards.ca.gov)
(805) 542-4630

Los Angeles Region:
Dave Bacharowski (dbacharowski@waterboards.ca.gov)
(213) 576-6607

Central Valley Region:
Antonia Vorster (avorster@waterboards.ca.gov)
(916) 464-4746

North Coast Region:
Craig Hunt (chunt@waterboards.ca.gov)
(707) 576-3767

San Francisco Bay Region:
Randy Lee (rylee@waterboards.ca.gov)
(510) 622-2375

Central Coast Region:
Sheila Soderberg (ssoderberg@waterboards.ca.gov)
(805) 549-3592

Los Angeles Region:
Adnan Siddiqui (asiddiqui@waterboards.ca.gov)
(213) 576-6812

Central Valley Region:
Duncan Austin (daustin@waterboards.ca.gov) (Sacramento Office)
(916) 464-4712

Karen Clementsen (kclementsen@waterboards.ca.gov) (Redding Office)
(530) 224-4852

Russell Walls (rwalls@waterboards.ca.gov) (Fresno Office)
(559) 488-4392

Lahontan Region:
Chuck Curtis (ccurtis@waterboards.ca.gov)
(530) 542-5460

Colorado River Region:
Abdi Haile (ahaile@waterboards.ca.gov)
(760) 776-8939

Santa Ana Region:
Kurt Berchtold (kberchtold@waterboards.ca.gov)
(951) 782-3286

San Diego Region
Julie Chan (JChan@waterboards.ca.gov)
(858) 627-3926

Lahontan Region:
James Brathovde (jbrathovde@waterboards.ca.gov)
(530) 542-5572

Colorado River Region:
Kai Dunn (kdunn@waterboards.ca.gov)
(760) 776-8958

Santa Ana Region:
Ann Sturdivant (asturdivant@waterboards.ca.gov)
(951) 782-4904

San Diego Region
Sue Pease (spease@waterboards.ca.gov)


Melody Calisay (melody.calisay@doh.hawaii.gov)
(808) 586-4249

Lynn Bailey (Lynn.Bailey@doh.hawaii.gov)
(808) 586-4653


Lisa J. Johnson, CEM, CHMM (l_johnson@ndep.nv.gov)
Bureau of Corrective Actions
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
901 S. Stewart St., Ste 4001
Carson City, NV  89701
Phone: (775) 687-9379
Fax: (775) 687-8335
Nevada Division of Environmental Protection  Exiting EPA (disclaimer)

Top of page

Jump to main content.