Jump to main content or area navigation.

Contact Us


? ?

Other Cleanup Activity

Sites that are not on EPA's National Priorities List that have completed the Superfund remedial assessment process and determined to need remedial-type cleanup attention may be addressed under a State, Tribal or other Federal Agency environmental cleanup program. EPA refers to these sites as "Other Cleanup Activity (OCA)" sites. Remedial-type work can include comprehensive site investigations in support of making cleanup determinations, interim cleanup actions, removals or final cleanup decisions, including decisions that cleanup is not required. At these sites, there is no continuous and substantive involvement on the part of EPA's site assessment program while remedial-type work is ongoing, such as routinely reviewing work products and other documents and providing comments. Each year, EPA checks in with its State, Tribal and other Federal Agency partners on the status of cleanup work at these sites. Should conditions change such that Federal Superfund involvement becomes necessary, EPA will work with its State, Tribal and other Federal Agency partners to determine an alternative approach for addressing a site.

Click on the EPA regional map to see a list of sites in each region sorted by state, county, and city.

Note: EPA's CERCLIS inventory contains limited information on these sites. For non-Federal sites, please refer to the State and/or Tribal environmental agency for more detailed information on cleanup progress on these sites. For Federal Facilities, please refer to EPA's Federal Facilities Site Evaluation Project or to the other Federal Agency for more information.

You also can click on the map below to see all of the sites in a particular state or territory:
Map of the United States Alaska Alabama Arkansas Arizona California Colorado Connecticut Washington, DC Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Iowa Idaho Illinois Indiana Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Massachussets Maryland Maine Michigan Minnesota Missouri Mississippi Montana North Carolina North Dakota Nebraska New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico Nevada New York Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Pacific Islands Puerto Rico Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Virginia Virgin Islands Vermont Washington Wisconsin West Virginia Wyoming

EPA Region:



Jump to main content.