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States regularly evaluate and modify funding 
mechanisms to find ways to more effectively and 
efficiently support their solid waste disposal and 
recycling programs.  U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency, in implementing the Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act, plays a key role 
in providing technical assistance to state materials 
management programs. To help states share this 
important information, this document presents a 
concise summary of the funding information 
provided by each of the EPA Region 5 states. 
 
Each state has several ways in which to fund solid 
waste and materials management programs.  Most 
states give these mechanisms specific names, but 
for ease of comparing state by state, they have 
been categorized as follows:  
 

Disposal surcharges: Commonly known as 
tipping fees, these are charges levied on waste 
disposal. They are based on the quantity (weight 
or volume) of waste disposed.    
 
Facility fees:  Fees paid by the owner/operator of 
a landfill, compost or recycling facility associated 
with the facility’s licensing, permitting, 
registration or operation. 
 
General fund: Primary cache of funds holding 
state appropriations and providing the resources 
necessary to sustain day-to-day administrative and 
operating expenses of the governing body.  
 
Tax: A fee levied on materials or services 
associated with the collection, transfer, storage or 
disposal of solid waste or other materials.   
 
Scrap tire fees: Special funding mechanisms to 
support scrap tire programs. 
 

E-waste program fees: Fees paid by 
manufacturers of new electronics, typically as an 
annual registration fee.  

Local fees: Fees that provide money to the local 
regulatory body for solid waste activities. 
 
See Table 11 for a summary of the funding 
mechanisms used in each of the six EPA Region 5 
states. 
 

Illinois 
Illinois’ solid waste and recycling program is 
funded by a combination of surcharges and 
specific funding mechanisms to support 
traditional waste disposal and recycling, food 
scrap composting, recycling expansion and 
modernization, scrap tire, and e-waste programs.  
 
Two Illinois agencies are responsible for carrying 
out the majority of the state’s solid waste and 
recycling program. Illinois EPA is primarily 
responsible for regulatory and statewide planning 
activities. The Department of Commerce and 
Economic Opportunity has responsibility for 
grants that advance recycling and composting.  
See Table 2 for more information. 
 

Disposal Surcharges 
State Tipping Fee Surcharge   

Illinois2 charges a state tipping fee surcharge of 
$2.00 per ton and/or $.095 per cubic yard. Smaller 
landfills pay a set annual fee regardless of tonnage 
or volume. See Table 3 for these fees. 
 
The surcharge generates approximately $20 
million annually. State law requires that $2 
million per year goes to the state’s Hazardous 
Waste Fund.  The remaining funds, which go into 
Illinois Solid Waste Management Fund, are 
shared by Illinois EPA and DCEO to support their 
program activities.  
 
Subtitle D Fee  

In addition to the state tipping fee surcharge, 
Illinois3 collects an additional fee of $0.101 per 
cubic yard and/or $0.22 per ton on material 
landfilled in Illinois.  As with the state tipping 



 

 

 

Table 1: State Solid Waste Program Activity by Funding Mechanism 

Program Activity 
Surcharge

s 
Facility 
Fees 

Tax 
General 
Fund 

Landfills  
(licensing, registration, permitting, inspections) 

IL, IN, MI, 
OH, WI 

IN, MI, MN IN, WI 

Compost Facilities 
(licensing, registration, permitting, inspections) 

IL, WI MI4 MN IN, WI 

Recycling Facilities 
(licensing, permitting, registration, inspections) 

IL, WI  MN WI 

Recycling Measurement OH5, WI  MN WI 

Market Development IL, IN  MN  

Local Grants 
IL, IN, 
OH, WI 

WI 
MN, 
IN 

WI 

Education and Outreach IL, WI WI MN WI 

Scrap Tire Fees 

Scrap Tire Cleanup IN, MI, OH, IL 

Scrap Tire Market Development MI, IN 

E-Waste Fees 

E-Waste Management IL, IN, MI, MN, WI  

 

 
Table 2: Illinois State Program Activity by State Agency 

Program Activity IL EPA DCEO 

Landfills (licensing, registration, permitting, inspections) X  

Compost Facilities (licensing, registration, permitting, inspections) X  

Recycling Facilities (i.e., inspections as needed) X  

Market Development  X 

Local Grants X X 

Education and Outreach X X 

Scrap Tire Management X  

E-waste Management  X 
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Table 3: Surcharges on Illinois Landfills  

Cubic Yards Received 

in a Year (Thousands) 
Solid Waste Fee Subtitle D Fee Total Annual Fee 

>150 
$2.00/ton or 

$.095/cy 

$0.22/ton or 

$0.101/cy 
 $2.22/tons or $0.196 cy 

100-150 $52,630/yr $7,020/yr  $59,650 

50-100 $23,790/yr $3,120/yr  $26,910 

10-50 $7,260/yr $975/yr  $8,235 

<10 $1,050/yr $210/yr  $1,260 

 
fee surcharge, smaller landfills pay a set annual 
fee regardless of tonnage or volume. In fiscal 
years 2012 and 2013 this fee generated 
approximately $2.2 million a year for the 
Subtitle D Management Fund.   
 

Scrap Tire Fees  
Illinois6 imposes a fee of $2.50 per tire on retail 
customers purchasing new or used tires sold and 
delivered in the state.  A $2.00 per tire fee is 
deposited into the Used Tire Management Fund, 
less a collection allowance of $0.10 per tire to be 
retained by the retail seller and a collection 
allowance of $0.10 per tire to be retained by the 
Department of Revenue and paid into the 
General Revenue Fund.  The remaining $0.50 
per tire is deposited into the Emergency Public 
Health Fund.    
 
In fiscal years 2012 and 2013 the fee generated 
$13 million and $12.7 million respectively, of 
which Illinois EPA received $5.5 million and $6 
million for used tire management activities.    

 
E-waste Program Fees 
Electronic device collectors, recyclers, 
refurbishers and manufacturers pay annual fees.7  
For manufacturers, the 2013 registration fee is 
$5,107 unless during 2012 they sold 250 units or 
less, then the fee is $1,277.  For collectors, 
recyclers, and refurbishers the 2013 registration 
fee is $2,085; however, if annual throughput of 
materials is less than 1,000 tons, the fee is $516.  
Combined, these fees generate approximately 
$475,000 annually with all monies used by 

Illinois EPA to administer its electronic 
recycling activities.   

 
Local Fees 
Surcharges, tipping and/or tonnage fees  

Under authority of the Illinois EPA Act,8 “a unit 
of local government in which a solid waste 
disposal facility is located… may establish a fee, 
tax, or surcharge with regard to the permanent 
disposal of solid waste. All fees, taxes, and 
surcharges collected under this subsection shall 
be utilized for solid waste management 
purposes, including long-term monitoring and 
maintenance of landfills, planning, 
implementation, inspection, enforcement and 
other activities consistent with the Solid Waste 
Management Act and the Local Solid Waste 
Disposal Act, or for any other environment-

related purpose, including but not limited to an 
environment-related public works project, but 
not for the construction of a new pollution 
control facility other than a household hazardous 
waste facility.  However, the total fee, tax or 
surcharge imposed by all units of local 
government under this subsection (j) upon the 
solid waste disposal facility shall not exceed 
$0.60 cents per cubic yard and/or $1.27 a ton.”  
In fiscal year 2012 this fee generated more than 
$4 million for local governments. 
 

Community Hosting Fees 
In lieu of imposing a local tipping fee surcharge, 
some local governments have negotiated “host 
fee agreements” for pollution control facilities 
(e.g., landfills, transfer stations).  The terms of 
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these agreements and the spending of any 
revenues or in-kind value are not required to be 
reported to the state.  Some revenue generated 
may be used by local governments to address the 
program activities noted above. 
 

Indiana 
Indiana’s solid waste program is funded by a 
combination of surcharges, facility fees and 
money from the general fund. Specifically, the 
state’s solid waste disposal fee, and licensing 
and permitting fees cover 63 percent of program 
costs and general fund money covers the 
remaining 37 percent. Other funding 
mechanisms also are available to support 
recycling, scrap tire and e-waste programs. 

 
Disposal Surcharges 
Solid Waste Management Fee  

A solid waste management fee of $0.50 per ton 
is collected on solid waste disposal. This 
generates about $5.3 million a year based on 
current disposal volumes. The revenues are 
evenly distributed to the Solid Waste 
Management Fund9 and the Recycling 
Promotion and Assistance Fund,10 which support 
community recycling programs (suspended) and 
Recycling Market Development Program, 
respectively.       
 

Solid Waste Disposal Fee  

Indiana also collects a solid waste disposal fee11 
on material disposed in a landfill or incinerator.  
A $0.10 per ton charge is collected for solid 
waste landfill disposal and a $0.05 per ton fee is 
charged for solid waste incineration. The 
funding supports solid waste program 
administration such as permitting, licensing and 
inspecting solid waste disposal facilities.  

 
Facility Fees  
Indiana has established solid waste fees12 on 
solid waste landfill or processing facilities to  
defray the costs of administering the solid waste 
program. These fees apply to new permit 
applications as well as major and minor 
modification, renewal and annual operating 
permits.  See Table 4 for a breakdown of fees by 
facility type. 
 

Table 4: Indiana Annual Operation Fees 
for Disposal Facilities 

Fee Category 
Fee 
Amount 

Sanitary Landfills (tons/day) 

<100 $2,000 

100 – 200 $7,000 

250 – 499 $15,000 

>500 $35,000 

Construction/Demolition Site $1,500 

Restricted Waste Sites 

Type I $35,000 

Type II $25,000 

Type III $10,000 

Processing Facilities 

Transfer Station $2,000 

Other $2,000 

Incinerators (tons/day) 

<100 $2,000 

100 – 249 $7,000 

250 – 499 $15,000 

>500 $35,000 

Other 

Infectious Waste Incinerator $5,000 

Waste Tire Storage $500 

Waste Tire Registration $25 

 
General Fund 
Indiana’s solid waste program receives general 
fund money from taxes collected in the state.  
The general fund money covers approximately 
37 percent of annual program costs, 
approximately $1.6 million.   

 
Scrap Tire Fees 
A fee of $0.25 per tire is collected on each tire 
sold in the state. This generates about $1.4 
million per year. The revenues are distributed to 
the Waste Tire Management Fund,13 which 
supports tire cleanup activities, and the Waste 
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Tire Management Program for scrap tire market 
development activities (suspended).  The state 
also collects an annual registration fee of $500 
from waste tire storage facilities and $25 from 
waste tire transporters. 

 
E-waste Program Fees 
Manufacturers of video display devices (e.g., 
televisions, monitors, laptops, tablets) subject to 
the requirements of the Indiana E-Waste 
Statute14 are required to register with the Indiana 
Department of Environmental Management 
annually. Registration is $5,000 for the initial 
year and $2,500 for each year thereafter. The 
fees apply to program administration including 
registration, reporting and compliance.  During 
2012, 65 manufacturers were registered.    

 
Local Fees 
Indiana’s 70 solid waste management districts15 
obtain funding for operating expenses as 
follows: 
 

• District fees16 up to $2.50 per ton on the 
final disposal of solid waste within the 
district. 

• Tax levies within the district to pay costs of 
operation in connection with solid waste 
management. 

• Gifts, grants, loans of money, other 
property, or services from any source, public 
or private 

 
Funds are used for outreach and education on 
recycling, yard waste, and household hazardous 
waste and supporting services including grants 
and loans.  Seven of the districts serve multiple 
counties and 63 are single-county district.  
Marion County is served by the City of 
Indianapolis. 
 

Michigan 
Michigan’s solid waste program is funded by a 
combination of surcharges and facility fees, as 
well as specific funding mechanisms to support 
scrap tire, e-waste and composting programs. 

 

Disposal Surcharges 
Michigan collects a $0.12 per cubic yard ($0.36 
per ton) surcharge17 on solid waste landfilled  

which generates about $5.3 million per year 
based on current disposal volumes. These funds 
can only be used to support solid waste program 
administration such as permitting, licensing and 
inspecting solid waste disposal facilities. 
 

Facility Fees 
Solid waste processing plants, transfer stations 
and landfills also pay construction permit fees18 
which generate an average of $10,500 per year 
for the solid waste program.  Licensing fees are 
also collected, but they do not support the 
administration of the solid waste program 
directly. Instead they are deposited into an 
account in the event an owner has insufficient 
financial assurance. 
 
Composting facilities pay a registration fee of 
$600 per three years which generates just 
enough revenue to manage the registration 
portion of the composting program but does not 
fund inspections, market development or other 
composting related activities. 

 
Scrap Tire Fees 
Michigan’s scrap tire program19 is funded by a 
$1.50 title transfer fee which generates about 
$4.3 million per year.  These funds are used to 
administer the scrap tire hauler and collection 
site requirements, provide cleanup grants, and 
scrap tire market development.  

 
E-waste Program Fees 
Electronic device recyclers and manufacturers 
pay $2,000 and $3,000 annually. The $265 
thousand generated is used to administer the  
e-waste take back program.20  
 

Local Fees 
Municipal, township and county governments in 
Michigan have a variety of mechanisms to fund 
solid waste and recycling activities at the local 
level.  Local governments hosting a landfill may 
charge $0.10/cubic yard or any other agreed 
upon amount as an impact fee. Counties 
frequently enter into contracts with disposal 
areas through host community agreements.  
Other funding mechanisms are described in 
“Funding Options for Michigan Recycling 
Programs”21 updated in September 2010. 
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Minnesota 
Minnesota’s solid waste and recycling program 
is funded primarily by a tax on household, 
commercial, industrial generators, as well as 
generators of construction and demolition debris 
as described below.   
 
Revenues are deposited in the Environmental 
Fund22 which also receives money from other 
environmental fees, loan repayments and 
legislative appropriations. The Environmental 
Fund is a pooled fund that supports other 
program activities in addition to solid waste. The 
funding for specific activities is determined 
through biennial appropriations from the 
legislature. 
 
Minnesota also relies on annual fees by 
electronics manufacturers to support its e-waste 
program.  
 

Tax 
The bulk of solid waste funding is authorized 
under the Solid Waste Management Tax.23 For 
mixed municipal solid waste, the tax is imposed 
on waste management service charges paid by 
businesses and households of 9.75 percent of the 
total bill for households and 17 percent for 
commercial generators regardless of whether the 
waste is disposed of in a landfill or waste-to-
energy facility. The different rates were set, in 
part, to reflect each waste stream’s potential for 
environmental risk.   
 
For non-mixed municipal solid waste, the tax is 
applied at a rate of $0.60 per cubic yard of 
capacity sent for disposal.  If the delivery to a 
landfill is charged at the gate by weight, the tax 
rate is $2 per ton for demolition debris and 
$0.462 per ton for industrial waste.  
 
The tax generates about $67 million per year. 
Thirty percent24 of tax revenue is deposited in 
the state’s General Fund and the remaining 70 
percent goes into the Environmental Fund.  
 

Scrap Tires Fees 
Minnesota does not assess a fee on scrap tires. 
 

 

E-waste Program Fees 
Manufacturers of video display devices (e.g., 
televisions, monitors, laptops, tablets) pay an 
annual registration fee25 based on the number of 
units sold annually to Minnesota households 
($2,500 for 100 or more units; $1,250 for fewer 
than 100 units).  In addition, they may also pay a 
fee if they did not meet their annual recycling 
obligation. The shortfall fees range from $0.30 - 
$0.50 per pound depending on how close they 
came to their obligation. The $146,000 from the 
registration fees is used to help implement the e-
waste program in Minnesota. 

 

Local Fees 
Surcharges, tipping and/or tonnage fees   

A fee of $1.50 per cubic yard for waste 
abatement purposes is levied on waste disposed 
into the two metropolitan municipal solid waste 
landfills in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.26  
Revenue per year is about $2.4 million, which is 
allocated among the seven counties in the 
metropolitan area for their recycling, reuse and 
reduction activities.  

 
Ohio 
Ohio’s solid waste program is funded primarily 
by surcharges and facility fees. It relies on 
various funding mechanisms to support its scrap 
tire and e-waste programs.   
 
Disposal Surcharges 
Solid Waste Fee  
Ohio collects $4.75 per ton of solid waste 
delivered to either a transfer or landfill facility. 
27 The fee is collected at the first facility 
accepting the waste. One dollar per ton goes to 
the Solid Waste Fund which is used to 
administer, among others, solid waste disposal 
and composting facility permitting, licensing, 
and inspections, and staff time for recycling 
measurement.   
 
Construction and Demolition Debris (CDD) fee  

$1.60 per ton ($0.80 per cubic yard) is assessed 
on the disposal of construction and demolition 
debris, whether the material is disposed of at a 
municipal waste facility or a CDD facility.28  A 
portion of this fee is used by Ohio EPA to 
implement the CDD program and a portion is 
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retained to fund recycling and litter prevention 
grants.  In Ohio, either Ohio EPA or local health 
departments can act as the licensing authority for 
a CDD facility.  Ohio EPA retains $0.46 - $0.60 
of the fee to implement the CDD program if it is 
the licensing authority; if not it gets $0.06 for 
this purpose.  In addition, $0.75 goes to the Ohio 
EPA recycling and litter prevention fund 
(regardless of who is the licensing authority) to 
support recycling market development programs 
including grants, loans, research studies, or other 
efforts, and grants for local level recycling or 
waste management efforts. These grants, loans, 
etc., are focused on both CDD and solid waste 
activities. 
 
In addition to the above, an additional $0.10 per 
ton is assessed if the construction and demolition 
debris is disposed of at a CDD landfill.  Ohio 
EPA retains $0.08 - $0.10 of this amount.  

 
Facility Fees  
Licensing 

As previously indicated, the licensing authority 
can be the local health district if approved by 
Ohio EPA to administer the solid waste 
program. Otherwise, Ohio EPA is the licensing 
authority.29 An annual license fee is charged to 
licensed facilities, but none of it is retained by 
Ohio EPA.  See Table 5 for a breakdown of fees.  
A small portion is retained by the health 
department if it acts as the licensing authority. 
 
The board of health retains $2,500 of each 
license fee or the entire amount of any such fee 
that is less than $2,500. The money is used to 
administer and enforce the solid waste program. 
The remainder of each license fee is remitted to 
Ohio EPA and is then transferred to the state’s 
general revenue fund.  
 

Permitting 

Ohio issues permits to landfills, transfer stations, 
incinerators and compost facilities. However, 
none of the permit fees are retained by Ohio 
EPA or used to fund the solid waste program.  
All permit fees are transferred to the state 
general revenue fund.30 See Table 6.  

 
 

Table 5: Ohio Licensing Fees – Landfills, 
Transfer Stations, Composting and 
Incineration Facilities 

Type of Facility 
Annual License 

Fee 

Solid Waste Facilities, by authorized 

maximum daily waste receipt (tons) 

100 or less $5,000 

101 - 200 $12,500 

201 - 500   $30,000 

500 or greater  $60,000 

Transfer Facility $750 

Compost Facility (Class I and Class II) 

by authorized maximum daily waste 

receipt (tons) 

12 or less $300 

13 to 25 $600 

26 to 50 $1,200 

26 to 50 $1,800 

76 to 100 $2,500 

101 to 150 $3,750 

151 to 200 $5,000 

201 to 250 $6,250 

251 to 300 $7,500 

301 to 400 $10,000 

401 to 500 $12,500 

501 or more $30,000 
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Table 6: Ohio Permitting31 Fees – 
Landfills, Transfer Stations, Composting 
and Incineration Facilities 

Type of Facility Permit Fee 
Maximum 

Fee 

Landfill - new or 

modification with 

increase in 

disposal capacity 

The greater 

of $10 per 

1000 cu yd 

or $1,000 

$80,000 

Landfill  -

Modification for 

Existing  – no 

increase in 

capacity 

$1,000 NA 

Transfer Station - 

New or 

Modification   

$2,500 NA 

Incinerator or 

Composting - New 

or Modification  

$1,000 NA 

 
Ohio does not license or permit recycling 
facilities (such as clean materials recycling 
facilities, recycling centers, or other legitimate 
recycling operations.) 

 
Scrap Tire Fees 
Ohio relies primarily on licensing and permitting 
of scrap-tire-related facilities to support state 
scrap tire management.  
 
The state charges wholesalers of scrap tires a fee 
of $1.00 per tire.32 Fifty cents goes to the state’s 
Scrap Tire Management Fund which is used to:  
 

• Implement, administer, and enforce the 
scrap tire program at Ohio EPA. 

• Abate scrap tire accumulations 

• Provide $1.5 million per year in grants:  
o $1 million per year devoted to 

market development activities for 
scrap tires and synthetic rubber from 
tire manufacturing and tire recycling 
processes. 

o 0.5 million per year devoted to scrap 
tire amnesty and cleanup events. 

• Provide loans to promote the recycling or 
recovery of energy from scrap tires. 

• Offset administrative costs of managing the 
scrap tire fund. 

• Investigate nuisances associated with scrap 
tires. 

 
The local health department retains $15,000 of 

each licensing fee for a scrap tire monofill or 

monocell.  The remainder is remitted to Ohio 

EPA and credited to the scrap tire fund.  The 

board of health retains the entire amount of all 

other scrap tire licensing fees.  The money is 

used to administer and enforce the scrap tire 

program.  All registration and permit fees are 

remitted to Ohio EPA and credited to the scrap 

tire management fund. Table 7 provides a 

breakdown of licensing and permitting fees 

Local Fees 
Surcharges, tipping and/or tonnage fees  

A solid waste management disposal fee33 can be 
collected from landfills if levied by the solid 
waste management district. The tiered fee is as 
follows: 
 

• $1.00 to $2.00 per ton for waste generated 
and disposed within the solid waste 
management district. 

• $2.00 to $4.00 per ton for waste generated 
within another Ohio solid waste 
management district and disposed in a 
landfill located within the levying solid 
waste management district. 

• $1.00 to $2.00 per ton for waste generated 
outside of Ohio and disposed at a landfill 
location within the levying solid waste 
management district. 

 
Ohio law limits how solid waste management 
districts can spend disposal fee revenue to 10 
“allowable’ uses.  A solid waste management 
district uses the revenue from the disposal fee to 
implement its approved solid waste management 
plan. 



 

 

Table 7: Ohio Licensing and Permitting Fees – Scrap Tire Facilities  

Type of Facility Annual License Fee 

Scrap Tire Recovery Facility, based on daily design input capacity (tons) 

1 or less $100 

2 to 25 $500 

26 to 50 $1,000 

101 to 200 $2,500 

201 to 500 $3,500 

501 or more $5,500 

Scrap Tire Monocell or Monocell Facility, based on authorized maximum annual daily 

waste receipt (tons) 

100 or less $5000 

101 to 200 $12,500 

201 to 500 $30,000 

501 to more $60,000 

Scrap tire storage facility $1000 x # acres; max. $3000; if owned by motor vehicle salvage 

dealer, $100 

Scrap tire collection facility $200; if owned by motor vehicle salvage dealer, $50 

Type of Facility Permit Fee 

Scrap tire collection facility 

 
$200; if owned or operated by a motor vehicle salvage dealer licensed 
under Chapter 4738 of  Revised Code, $25 
 

New scrap tire storage facility 
$300; if owned or operated by a motor vehicle salvage dealer under 

Chapter 4738, $25 

Scrap tire storage facility  $1000; if owned or operated by motor vehicle salvage dealer, $50 

Scrap tire monocell or facility  
Greater of $10/1000 cu yd disposal capacity or $1,000.  Maximum fee 

$80,000 

Scrap tire recovery facility  $100 

Scrap tire recovery facility  $1,000 
 

 

.    



 

 

That could include programs (offered locally, 
not statewide) related to the following: 
 

• Recycling market development programs, 
including grants, loans, research studies, or 
other efforts. 

• Grants to support local-level recycling or 
waste management efforts. 

• Education and outreach. 

• Scrap tire management. 

• E-waste management. 
 
Other programs that can be funded include:   
 

• Providing or paying for recycling 
opportunities (curbside and drop-off). 

• Owning/operating a facility. 

• Supporting health departments. 

• Supporting local law enforcement. 

• Household hazardous waste management. 

• Yard waste management. 

• Compensating counties for hosting a landfill 
(paying for emergency services, road repair, 
etc.). 

• Recognition programs. 

• Waste audits. 
 

Solid Waste Management District 
Generation Fee  
A solid waste management district generation 
fee34 is collected on each ton of solid waste 
generated, if levied by the solid waste 
management district. The fee is collected at the 
landfill or transfer facility (located in Ohio) that 
accepts the waste first. The owner/operator of 
the facility then remits the fee to the levying 
solid waste management district. There are no 
limits on the amount of a generation fee.  
However, a solid waste management district 
wanting to levy a generation fee of more than 
$5.00 must get the approval of more of its 
communities than a solid waste management 
district levying a fee of less than $5.00. 
Generation fee revenues are used the same way 
as solid waste management district disposal fee 
revenue.   
 

Community Hosting Fee  
Finally, a community hosting fee35 can be levied 
by a municipality or township that hosts a 

landfill facility. The ceiling for the fee is $0.25 
per ton of solid waste disposed at the landfill 
located within the levying municipality or 
township.  Revenue from the fee is used to offset 
the added costs to the municipal corporation or 
township of hosting the landfill.  Revenue can be 
used to: 
 

• Maintain roads and other public facilities.  

• Provide emergency and other public 
services. 

• Compensate for reductions in property tax 
revenues due to reductions in real property 
valuations. 

 

Wisconsin 
Wisconsin’s solid waste and recycling program 
is funded by surcharges, facility fees, and the 
general fund.  E-waste activities are funded by 
an e-waste program fee. 
 

Disposal Surcharges 
A tipping fee of $13.00 per ton36 is collected by 
licensed Wisconsin landfills for municipal solid 
waste, construction and demolition waste, and a 
variety of other solid waste types. Waste 
categorized as high-volume industrial and that 
approved for use as daily cover are charged a 
lower fee and/or are exempt entirely.  The 
tipping fee is deposited into the Solid and 
Hazardous Waste Program Revenue37  and 
Environmental Management Accounts,38 a 
portion of which fund the state’s waste and 
materials management program:  
 

• $0.15 per ton landfill license fee surcharge 
generates between $965,000 - $1,000,000 
annually for the Solid and Hazardous Waste 
Program Revenue Account. 

• $12.85 per ton goes into the Environmental 
Management Account delineated as follows: 

o $0.14 per ton groundwater and well 
compensation fees generates an 
estimated $975,000 annually.  

o $5.70 per ton Environmental Repair 
Fund fee generates about $34.2 
million.   

o $0.007 per ton solid waste facility 
siting board fee generates 
approximately $49,000 annually.  
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o $7.00 per ton recycling fee; in fiscal 
year 2012 $36.3 million was 
collected.  

 

Facility Fees39   
Wisconsin levies various license fees on solid 
waste disposal, processing, storage and 
transportation facilities.  These fees generate 
around $1.6 million annually.  These fees fund 
licensing, inspection, and plan review of solid 
waste facilities.  
 

General Fund 
Wisconsin’s solid waste program receives an 
annual allotment based on Full Time 
Equivalents funded from this account.  These 
funds can be used for any activities related to 
administering the state solid waste program.  
 

Scrap Tire Fees 
No funding is provided for the collection of 
scrap tires or market development.    
 

E-waste Program Fees40  
The electronic recycling program, E-Cycle 
Wisconsin, is funded through an annual 
registration fee applied to manufacturers selling 
covered electronics in the state. The amount of 
revenue generated annually depends on the 
number of manufacturers that register, but has 
generally been between $275,000 and $300,000. 
All funds go into a segregated electronics 
recycling account, and the Department of 
Natural Resources receives annual allotments 
from this account for activities related to the 
electronics recycling program including staff, 
outreach, field inspection, and other compliance 
assurance.  
 

Local Fees 
Local units of government – approved by 
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources as 
“responsible units” for the purposes of recycling 
– are eligible for state recycling grant awards.41  
Approximately $19 million is awarded to 1,000 
responsible units each year.  On average, about 
17 percent of a responsible unit’s recycling 
program cost is covered by the grant.  
 

In addition, a $1 million supplemental program 
– Recycling Consolidation Grants42 -- provides 
awards to responsible units each year that meet 
eligibility requirements (the responsible unit is a 
county, has a population of more than 25,000 
people, or has entered in to an intergovernmental 
agreement with another responsible unit for 
eligible recycling related activities).   
 
The major sources of local funding for recycling 
programs are tax levies, user fees (including 
“pay-as-you-throw” fees where the cost to a user 
is based on the amount thrown away) and 
municipal budgets. Wisconsin does not restrict 
sources of local funding, except that no 
responsible unit may impose a tax or fee on the 
sale or distribution of packaging.  
 

Contacts 
EPA – Region 5 
Susan Mooney 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5 
312-886-3585 
mooney.susan@epa.gov 

 

Illinois 
David E. Smith 
Department of Commerce and Economic 
Opportunity 
Illinois Energy and Recycling Office 
217-785-2006 
david.e.smith@illinois.gov 
 
David Walters 
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency 
Division of Land Pollution Control 
217-782-9261 
david.Walters@illiois.gov 

 

Indiana 
Tom Leas  
Department of Environmental Management 
Office of Compliance Support, Planning and 
Assessment 
317- 234-4051 
tleas@idem.in.gov 
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Michigan 
Matt Flechter  
Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Waste Management and Radiological 
Protection 
517-284-6584 
flechterm@michigan.gov 

 

Minnesota 
Wayne Gjerde 
Pollution Control Agency 
Resource Management and Assistance Division 
651-757-2392 
wayne.gjerde@state.mn.us 
 
Peder Sandhei 
Pollution Control Agency 
Resource Management and Assistance Division 
651-757-2688 

peder.sandhei@state.mn.us 

 

Ohio 
Ernie Stall 
Ohio Environmental Protection Agency 
Division of Materials and Waste Management 
614-728-5356 
ernest.stall@epa.state.oh.us 

 

Wisconsin  
Cynthia Moore  
Department of Natural Resources 
Bureau of Waste and Materials Management 
608-267-7550 
cynthia.moore@wisconsin.gov 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Note: The tables in this document are for general 

information purposes only.  Facilities or others 
needing information for licensing, permitting, etc. 
should consult the appropriate state for specific 
information. 
2 Illinois Compiled Statutes, 415 ILCS 5/22.15 
3 Illinois Compiled Statutes, 415 ILCS 5/22.44 
4 Fee only covers cost of administering registration 
5 Staff time 
6 Illinois Compiled Statutes, 415 ILCS 5/55.6 
7 Illinois Compiled Statutes, 415 ILCS 150/85 
8 Illinois Compiled Statutes, 415 ILCSS 5/22.15(j) 
9 Indiana Code, IC 13-20-22 
10 Indiana Code, IC4-23-5.5-14 
11 Indiana Code, IC 13-20-21-6  
12 Indiana Code, IC 13-20-21 
13 Indiana Code, IC13-20-13-8 
14 Indiana Code, IC 13-20.5-2-1 
15 Indiana Code, IC 13-21-3 
16 Indiana Code, IC 13-21-13 
17 Michigan Compiled Law, MCL 324.11525a 
18 Michigan Compiled Law, MCL 324.11509 
19 Michigan Scrap tire program 
20 Michigan E-Waste program 

21 Funding Options for Michigan Recycling Programs 
22 Minnesota Statute, MN Stat §16A.531 
23 Minnesota Statute, MN Stat § 297H 
24 Minnesota Statute, MN Stat § 297H.13(2) 
25 Minnesota’s Electronic Recycling Act  
26 Minnesota Statute, MN Stat § 473.843 
27 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3734.57 
division (A) 
28 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3714 
29 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3734.06 
30 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3745.11  
31 Permits are subject to applications and late fees.  
32 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3734.901 
33 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3734.57 
34 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3734.573 
35 Ohio Administrative Code, Section 3734.57 
36 Wisconsin Statutes, WI Stat 289.62 – 289.67 
37 Wisconsin Administrative Code, Ch. NR 
520.04(1)(d)3 
38 Wisconsin Administrative Code, WI Stat 289.63 
39 Wisconsin Administrative Code, Ch. NR 520.14, 
Tables 2, 3, 4 
40 Wisconsin Statutes, WI Stat 287.17 
41 Wisconsin Administrative Code, Ch. NR 542  
42 Wisconsin Statutes, WI Stat 287.24 

                                                           




